Lymphoma – Types & Stages

Noninvasive Cancer Treatment in Payson, Glendale, & Scottsdale, AZ


Fighting cancer is one of the most difficult challenges one can face in life – but with Palo Verde Cancer Specialists, you have a dedicated ally on your side. We proudly provide world-class cancer treatment to patients throughout the Phoenix, AZ area, and if you’ve been diagnosed with any type or stage of lymphoma, we’re here to help.


Types of Lymphoma


Lymphoma is a blanket term that covers more than 60 specific subtypes of cancer, but on a broad level, lymphoma is split into two large classifications: Hodgkin’s and Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Hodgkin’s lymphoma is rarer and marked by the presence of Reed-Sternberg cells, a type of giant cancer cell. Both categories have their own staging system.


Stages of Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma


The more common of the two, Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is classified using a four-stage system, with higher stages denoting a more severe cancer. Staging is determined based on how many lymph nodes the cancer has infected and if the cancer has spread to other organs. Stages of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NHL) are as follows:


  • Stage I: This stage denotes either of the following conditions:
    • Stage I: Cancer is found in only 1 lymph node.
    • Stage IE: Cancer is in one site outside the lymph system, but no lymph node regions
  • Stage II: Denotes either of the following:
    • Stage II: Cancer is present in 2 or more lymph node regions, but all are on the same side of the diaphragm.
    • Stage IIE: The cancer is present in a single organ and its lymph node regions.
  • Stage III: Cancer cells have infected lymph node regions on both sides of the diaphragm.
  • Stage IV: The cancer has spread throughout the body, beyond the lymph nodes.
  • Progressive: This refers to cancer that continues to grow and spread during treatment for lymphoma.
  • Recurrent: This refers to cancer that returns after being treated. At this point, the cancer must be re-staged and treatment start anew.


Stages of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma


Hodgkin’s lymphoma is staged using a 4-stage system similar to NHL. Stages of Hodgkin’s lymphoma are as follows:


  • Stage I: Cancer cells exist in 1 lymph node.
  • Stage II: Refers to either of hte following:
    • Stage II: The cancer has infected 2 or more lymph nodes, but on the same side of the diaphragm.
    • Stage IIE: The cancer affects a single organ and its lymph node regions.
  • Stage III: Cancer exists in lymph nodes on either side of the diaphragm. The cancer may also affect an extralymphatic organ (Stage IIIE), the spleen (Stage IIIS), or both (Stage IIIES).
  • Stage IV: The cancer has spread to organs and tissues beyond the lymph nodes.
  • Recurrent: Similarly to NHL, this refers to lymphoma that has come back after previous treatment.


Schedule a Treatment Consultation with Your Phoenix Cancer Center

Both Hodgkin’s and Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma are serious conditions, and if you or a loved one have been diagnosed, it’s important to seek treatment as quickly as possible. Request a consultation online to find out how Palo Verde Cancer Specialists can help you beat cancer through comprehensive treatment – even if you’ve already been given a treatment recommendation. And remember: no matter how serious the cancer you’re dealing with, there is always hope.

Contact Us Now

SCHEDULE APPOINTMENT or seeking SECOND OPINION? Complete this form and we will contact you within 24-hours.